Posted by: Yorgos | February 26, 2008

Text 1 – A new effort

This is my second effort in writing a blog. The first was a complete failure, since there was no commitment from my part and all I had tried to do was undermine the very concept of blogs by writing my own about how blogs are nothing special. I recognize my mistake and I will try to make amends here. Maybe blogs are indeed nothing special, but I wouldn’t know until I try and create my own and participate in a community of bloggers. If I don’t like it, at least I’ll know why.

So, here I am, with a brand new blog, full of hopes and thoughts and expectations, however without knowledge about whether I will be able to commit this time. Here I am, a part of this new founded democracy of the Internet, a democracy consisted of many little dictatorships. Because what is a blog, a single blog, if not a totalitarian regime, where I can allow or not allow other people’s comments. Well, having the instruments of acting like a dictator does not mean that you do act as one (however, merely having this power does not help you at all), so all comments will be allowed in this blog, even spam. And that is because there is no way to fully protect a democratic system from people who want to take advantage of it. Still, though, I will be a small, kind of funny and not at all cruel dictator, since this blog will be simply a mirror of my own reflections (get it?).

This is a thematic blog, then. Inspired by my current interests and my potential PhD, I will be talking in here about…well…media, books and (occasionally) art. Of course, media in our age is an all-embracing subject, so expect to find in the texts to come quite a variety of subjects from video games to Adorno and from piracy to means of control in media.

For those of you who know me, you will know that I hail from Greece, so please excuse any mistakes I make while using the beautiful (yet not-making-any-sense) English language. For those of you who don’t know me, well, you should know that [copy-paste from the above sentence] I hail from Greece, so please excuse any mistakes I make while using the beautiful (yet not-making-any-sense) English language.

I must add here that I made the decision to start a blog also because of Tara and her very interesting blog imaginatively called situationniste.

I guess that’s it for now. Hopefully, before I send the email that brought you here (that is, if you belong to the ones who know me and did not get here by accident) I will have a couple more posts in the blog.

Responses

  1. “Because what is a blog, a single blog, if not a totalitarian regime, where I can allow or not allow other people’s comments.”

    That’s the funniest thing I’ve read all day. I actually laughed out loud. I wish I were that funny.

    Kudos on starting a blog! You can be assured that I’ll be reading it with every new post!

  2. Rest assured that you have been honored with the grace of this regime…But we are unstable, us dictators…


Leave a Reply

Categories

